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What we learned from Open Social in
3 years, moving from an Agency to a
Product company.
DrupalCamp Kyiv 2019
! co-Founder GoalGorilla (2008)
! co-Founder Open Social (2016)
! co-Founder THX Project (2018)
❖ Former board of Dutch Drupal Association
❖ Current board of Dutch Startup Association
Introduction Taco Potze
GoalGorilla, 

creative Drupal shop
since 2008
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Why Open Social?
“We want to build better
software, innovate
faster and deliver more
value to our clients.
Open Social builds
communities on a
mission, since 2016
Drupal distribution
* drupal.org/project/social
Open Social is not
simply software
but a collaborative project



Using open-source technology,
it’s flexible and powers more than
1.000 active installations.*
! United Nations (8 platforms)
! Greenpeace International
! SAP
! Victim Support Netherlands
! CTBTO
! Foraus
our clients
Companies using Open Social
Clients in Europe, United States and Australia
! Holmesglen Institute Australia
! European Aviation Safety Agency
! DigitalSwitzerland
! Friends of the Earth (Milieudefensie)
! Pachamama Alliance
! Netherlands Organisation for Scientific
Research
So, how did we do it?
getopensocial.com
open-SaaS
21
SaaS
Software-as-a-Service
Offering: 



- Easy out-of-the-box setup
- Smooth automated updates incl.
new features
- Hosting (cloud), maintenance,
support and services
Billing: 



- Setup fee + Monthly fee



- Additional services
! Deliver more value to your clients
! Lower initial setup cost
! Faster deliver times
! Less time of client needed
! No acceptance periods
! Better tested software, less bugs
! More time spend on UX and design
Winning
Why SaaS beats custom development?
! Other people use it too, less risk
! Crowd co-development
! Specialism as company
! Additional value adding services
! Stricter security guidelines and
certifications
! Marketplace for modules / extensions
Our secret sauce
Technology
Moss: continuous integration
& automation
- Quality Assurance
- Security
- Performance
- Backups
Primate: Automated SaaS
Cloud setup and release
system
Basic SaaS
Enterprise
SaaS
(extended)
API Brand/Layout THX
Open-source Proprietary Single tenant
How to
create an
out-of-the-
box
platform?
Doing agency work is easy.
You sell the client a dream.
You start building and they pay you all
hours made, probably each month
covering all your cost plus a little profit.
Building a product is hard.
You sell the client a final product.
You start building for 6-12 months, they
pay you only a fraction of the cost.
21 3
benefits
Raising money
pre-Seed
<200k
EUR
Seed
< 1M
euro
Series A
>1M
euro
Funded Open Social with a
successful pre-seed
crowdfunding campaign.
10% equity for 200k euro
+ 300k euro out of pocket
Watch our 

product video
Watch now
Open
DIY
Public Big
tech
Closed
adoption
challengers
Social software landscape
Players, problems and pain
Privacy concerns and
lack of data
ownership
Lack of domain
expertise, costly and
time consuming
Vendor lock-ins, not
customizable bad
services and
expensive
Not customizable,
limited, no data
ownership
Product/Market fit
After non-profit we are now moving into the Business market
Opportunities to expand target segment towards new industries and software domains
Extranet; 

Events and
Knowledge
Management
Vertical
Industry
NGOs Government
Collaboration
Courses (e-learning)
Gamification 3.0
Business
Initial 

target 

segment
Source: Credence Research “Enterprise
Social Networks and Online Communities
Market, June 2018
Product/market-fit in ‘17-’18 helped to
identify key areas of expansion
Crowd Innovation
4 Key Metrics to
measure success
MRR = Monthly Recurring Revenue
Usually your monthly SaaS fee, your client pays you
every month or every year.
Ideally this price goes up each month or year when you
deliver more value to your client (usage, features,
interactions).
ARR = anual recurring revenue
In US your company could be worth 100 x MRR..



So a 500 EUR/month client adds 50.000k to your
company value..
Churn %
How many clients stop paying for your product every
month?
Needs to be as low as possible. But too low and you
might charge enough.
Lock them in (for example with data) vs. Open
CAC = Cost to Acquire a Customer
Say your cost are 10.000 euro a month for marketing
and sales and that gives you 2 new clients.
CAC = 10.000 / 2 = 5.000 euro
How many months to recover CAC?
5.000 / 500 euro = 10 months, in general <1 year
LTV = Customer Life Time Value
ARPA = avr. Monthly recurring Revenue per Account = MRR
How are we
doing with
Open Social?
MRR = Monthly Recurring Revenue
2017 2018 2019
Churn %
CAC = Cost to Acquire a Customer
Cost are 12.000 euro a month for marketing and sales
and gives us 1 new clients.
CAC = 12.000 / 1 = 12.000 euro
How many months to recover CAC?
12.000 / 1.000 euro = 12 months
LTV = Customer Life Time Value
Not usable for Open Social, yet..
Timelime GoalGorilla <> Open Social
2015: Preparations and crowdfunding
2016: Invested 500k into Open Social
2017 - 2019: Increase Open Social clients,
decrease GoalGorilla clients.
2020: Raising additional Investment
21 3
Open Social 2016-2019
3 key learnings
Have enough
funding for product
development AND
sales & marketing.
Focus on MRR
growth!!
Recurring
Revenue
Build your tech
to scale.
Setup and
maintenance
time should be
close to 0.
Discover
more
benefits
visit getopensocial.com
Thank you for your attention!
Get in touch with our founders on

taco@getopensocial.com




And technical questions to our VP of Product

jaapjan@getopensocial.com



Updates @OpenSocialHQ
Relevant links
getopensocial.com Open Social website
drupal.org/project/social Drupal Project page
demo.getopensocial.com Demo environment
goalgorilla.com/en Agency Website
thxproject.com DAICO THX Website

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WHAT WE LEARNED FROM OPEN SOCIAL IN 3 YEARS, MOVING FROM AN AGENCY TO A PRODUCT COMPANY

  • 1. What we learned from Open Social in 3 years, moving from an Agency to a Product company. DrupalCamp Kyiv 2019
  • 2. ! co-Founder GoalGorilla (2008) ! co-Founder Open Social (2016) ! co-Founder THX Project (2018) ❖ Former board of Dutch Drupal Association ❖ Current board of Dutch Startup Association Introduction Taco Potze
  • 3. GoalGorilla, 
 creative Drupal shop since 2008 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • 4. Why Open Social? “We want to build better software, innovate faster and deliver more value to our clients.
  • 5. Open Social builds communities on a mission, since 2016
  • 6. Drupal distribution * drupal.org/project/social Open Social is not simply software but a collaborative project
 
 Using open-source technology, it’s flexible and powers more than 1.000 active installations.*
  • 7. ! United Nations (8 platforms) ! Greenpeace International ! SAP ! Victim Support Netherlands ! CTBTO ! Foraus our clients Companies using Open Social Clients in Europe, United States and Australia ! Holmesglen Institute Australia ! European Aviation Safety Agency ! DigitalSwitzerland ! Friends of the Earth (Milieudefensie) ! Pachamama Alliance ! Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research
  • 8. So, how did we do it? getopensocial.com
  • 10. 21 SaaS Software-as-a-Service Offering: 
 
 - Easy out-of-the-box setup - Smooth automated updates incl. new features - Hosting (cloud), maintenance, support and services Billing: 
 
 - Setup fee + Monthly fee
 
 - Additional services
  • 11. ! Deliver more value to your clients ! Lower initial setup cost ! Faster deliver times ! Less time of client needed ! No acceptance periods ! Better tested software, less bugs ! More time spend on UX and design Winning Why SaaS beats custom development? ! Other people use it too, less risk ! Crowd co-development ! Specialism as company ! Additional value adding services ! Stricter security guidelines and certifications ! Marketplace for modules / extensions
  • 12. Our secret sauce Technology Moss: continuous integration & automation - Quality Assurance - Security - Performance - Backups Primate: Automated SaaS Cloud setup and release system Basic SaaS Enterprise SaaS (extended) API Brand/Layout THX Open-source Proprietary Single tenant
  • 14. Doing agency work is easy. You sell the client a dream. You start building and they pay you all hours made, probably each month covering all your cost plus a little profit.
  • 15. Building a product is hard. You sell the client a final product. You start building for 6-12 months, they pay you only a fraction of the cost.
  • 16.
  • 17.
  • 19. Funded Open Social with a successful pre-seed crowdfunding campaign. 10% equity for 200k euro + 300k euro out of pocket
  • 20. Watch our 
 product video Watch now
  • 21. Open DIY Public Big tech Closed adoption challengers Social software landscape Players, problems and pain Privacy concerns and lack of data ownership Lack of domain expertise, costly and time consuming Vendor lock-ins, not customizable bad services and expensive Not customizable, limited, no data ownership
  • 22. Product/Market fit After non-profit we are now moving into the Business market Opportunities to expand target segment towards new industries and software domains Extranet; 
 Events and Knowledge Management Vertical Industry NGOs Government Collaboration Courses (e-learning) Gamification 3.0 Business Initial 
 target 
 segment Source: Credence Research “Enterprise Social Networks and Online Communities Market, June 2018 Product/market-fit in ‘17-’18 helped to identify key areas of expansion Crowd Innovation
  • 23. 4 Key Metrics to measure success
  • 24. MRR = Monthly Recurring Revenue Usually your monthly SaaS fee, your client pays you every month or every year. Ideally this price goes up each month or year when you deliver more value to your client (usage, features, interactions). ARR = anual recurring revenue In US your company could be worth 100 x MRR..
 
 So a 500 EUR/month client adds 50.000k to your company value..
  • 25. Churn % How many clients stop paying for your product every month? Needs to be as low as possible. But too low and you might charge enough. Lock them in (for example with data) vs. Open
  • 26. CAC = Cost to Acquire a Customer Say your cost are 10.000 euro a month for marketing and sales and that gives you 2 new clients. CAC = 10.000 / 2 = 5.000 euro How many months to recover CAC? 5.000 / 500 euro = 10 months, in general <1 year
  • 27. LTV = Customer Life Time Value ARPA = avr. Monthly recurring Revenue per Account = MRR
  • 28. How are we doing with Open Social?
  • 29. MRR = Monthly Recurring Revenue 2017 2018 2019
  • 31. CAC = Cost to Acquire a Customer Cost are 12.000 euro a month for marketing and sales and gives us 1 new clients. CAC = 12.000 / 1 = 12.000 euro How many months to recover CAC? 12.000 / 1.000 euro = 12 months
  • 32.
  • 33. LTV = Customer Life Time Value Not usable for Open Social, yet..
  • 34. Timelime GoalGorilla <> Open Social 2015: Preparations and crowdfunding 2016: Invested 500k into Open Social 2017 - 2019: Increase Open Social clients, decrease GoalGorilla clients. 2020: Raising additional Investment
  • 35. 21 3 Open Social 2016-2019 3 key learnings Have enough funding for product development AND sales & marketing. Focus on MRR growth!! Recurring Revenue Build your tech to scale. Setup and maintenance time should be close to 0.
  • 37. Thank you for your attention! Get in touch with our founders on
 taco@getopensocial.com 
 
 And technical questions to our VP of Product
 jaapjan@getopensocial.com
 
 Updates @OpenSocialHQ Relevant links getopensocial.com Open Social website drupal.org/project/social Drupal Project page demo.getopensocial.com Demo environment goalgorilla.com/en Agency Website thxproject.com DAICO THX Website