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Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
1
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
Foresight	Valuation	Group,	LLC
Financial	Projections	and	Funding	Strategies	
for	Startups
August	3rd,	2016
Efrat	Kasznik,	President,	Foresight	Valuation	Group
Lecturer,	Stanford	Graduate	School	of	Business
July	30,	2016
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
2
Efrat Kasznik
• Founder and President, Foresight Valuation Group, a Silicon-Valley based
Intellectual property (IP) valuation, strategy and start-up advisory firm.
• Valuation and strategy expert, with 20 years of experience analyzing IP
and technologies across industries
• Lecturer, Stanford Graduate School of Business
• Chair, IoT Committee, Licensing Executives Society (LES), USA-Canada
• World Leading IP Strategist, IAM 300 List: 2013-2016
• Co-founder, CFO and Advisor to startups, accelerators and funds in the US,
Europe and Israel, including: Stanford Venture Studio, The HUB Trieste, Astia
Angel Fund
• Conference speaker, author and blogger on topics related to valuations,
funding and IP strategy.
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
3
Outline
• The Funding Cycle
• Startup Valuations
• Financial Modeling
• Funding Strategy
• Questions?
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
4
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
The Funding Cycle
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
5
Guess the Company?
$1 Billion
$5 Million
2012 2016
$5	Million
$34	Million
$44	Million
$174	Million
$539	Million
$1	Billion
Q1’12
Q4,12
Q2’14
Q4’14
Q3’15
Q3’16
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
6
Sources of Startup Funding
$
Equity
Debt Crowdfunding
Grants	
(sciences)
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
7
The Equity Funding Cycle
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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The Equity Funding “Triangle”:
Funding, Valuation and Investor’s Share
Funds	Raised	
($)
Investor’s	
Share
(%)
Pre-Money	
Valuation
($)
$1M
20%$4M
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
9
Guess the Company?
$1 Billion
$5 Million
2012 2016
$5	Million
$34	Million
$44	Million
$174	Million
$539	Million
$1	Billion
Q1’12
Q4,12
Q2’14
Q4’14
Q3’15
Q3’16
$1M
$9.8M
$13.2M
$50M
$91M
Acquired
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
10
Funding Statistics from Venture Capitalists:
Probability of Funding is 1% or Below
“From	the	500-800	business	plans	received	and	
reviewed	a	year,	somewhere	between	50-100	initial	1	
hour	meetings	are	held.	After	this,	August	is	
interested	in	about	20	companies	and	serious	about	
4	and	he	will	invest	in	1	to	2	deals”
-David	Hornik	– Partner,	August	Capital
“From	the	fund	I	work	for,	and	a	handful	of	others	for	
which	I	have	an	anecdotal	answer,	I	can	tell	you	that	
about	0.6%-0.9%	of	companies	that	seek	funding	
from	a	VC	fund	end	up	getting	an	investment”
-Sean	Owen	– Pentech	Ventures
“Venture	funds	invest	in	1	out	of	every	400	
companies	seeking	funding,	or	0.25%”
-David	Rose	– CEO,	Gust
“For	every	100	business	plans	that	come	to	a	VC	
firm	for	funding,	usually	only	10	get	a	serious	look	
and	only	1	ends	up	being	funded”
-Venture	Capital	Yearbook
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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11
Total US VC Investments: 2011-2015
Increased Level of Funding, Higher Deal Size
Source:	cbinsights.com
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
12
VC Investment by Industry: 2015
2016	National	Venture	Capital	Association	
Yearbook/Thomson	Reuters
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
Startup Valuations
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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14
What’s in a Billion Dollars?
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
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15
CrunchBase Unicorn Leaderboard:
Top 10 US Unicorns (As of July 7, 2016)
Rank Valuation
1. Uber $62.5B
2. Airbnb $27B
3. Palantir $20.1B
4. Snapchat $19.3B
5. WeWork $16B
6. SpaceEx $12B
7. Pinterest $11B
8. Dropbox $10.35B
9. Theranos $9B
10. Lyft $5.5B
Company
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
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Key Performance Indicators (KPI):
The New Valuation Fundamentals
KPI	=	Measurable	Indicators	of	Scalability	&	Execution
• User	Engagement	- active	users
• #	of	Installs
• Customer	Acquisition	Cost	(CAC)	
• Customer	Lifetime	Value	(LTV)
• Average	Revenue	Per	User	(ARPU)
• Customer	Attrition	(Churn	Rate)
• Conversion	Rate	(funnel)
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
17
Startup Valuations:
The Investor Perspective
Industry	
Benchmarks
Company
Metrics
Investment	
Objectives
Investor	
Dynamics
• Fear	of	Missing	
Out	(FOMO)
• More	funding	
options	(Angels,	
VCs,	PE,	
Crowdfunding)
• Competitors
• Valuation	Comps
• Funding	&	Exits
• Target	ROI	(VC	=	10x)
• Exit	Horizon
• Portfolio	Companies
• Team
• Product
• Execution	(Beta)
• Intellectual	property
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
18
Early Stage Valuation Methods:
The Investor’s View
• Comparable	Valuation	Approach
• VC	Valuation	Approach
• Heuristic	Approaches	(based	on	investors’	
own	biases	and	experience)
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
19
Comparable Valuation Approach:
Pre-Money Valuation Distribution on AngelList (2010-Present):
0
100
200
300
400
500
600
700
800
900
<1M 1M 2M 3M 4M 5M 6M 7M+
204
479
625
748 730
830
487
684
Number	of	Seed	Investment	at	Various	Pre-money	
Valuation	(All	Industries)
Number	of	Deals
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Median Seed Pre-Money Valuation Up 53% from 2014
Highest Valuation in HALO History (Silicon Valley Bank)!
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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HALO 2015 Annual Report Data (Silicon Valley Bank):
2015 Mean and Median Angel Round Sizes
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
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VC Valuation Approach:
At Exit Point (Year 5)
Investment:	$1M
Share:	20%
Company	Valuation:	
$4M	Pre-Money
50%	Dilution
Share:	10%
Company	Valuation:	
$100M
Investment	=	$10M	
$1M
$(4+1)M
= 20%
Revenue: $20M
Multiple: 5X
Today Year	5	
(Exit)
Investment	Timeline
10X	ROI
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
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Heuristic Approach:
The Dave McClure Five “Million Dollar Points” *
• 5	valuation	“Points”	for	early	stage	valuations
• Each	“point”	worth	$1M:
1. Market
2. Product
3. Team
4. Customers
5. Revenue
=> Maximum:	$5	Million
*	Efrat’s	6th point:	Intellectual	Property	Rights>>	
add	another	$1M
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
24
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
Building a Financial Model
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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The CURVE TM Financial Model
COST
USERS
REVENUES
VALUATION	for	
ENTREPRENEURS
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
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Goals for Financial Modeling
• Manage Investor Expectations
ØUnderstand valuation trajectory over time
ØTrue for all companies, from startups to public co’s
• Set Foundation for Funding Strategy
ØValuation trajectory sets up your funding strategy
ØManage Dilution to a Minimum: raising the right amount at the right time
• Create an Operating Budget
ØEvaluate funding needs & funding sources
ØPrioritize spending to optimize return on investment
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
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Financial Model Flow:
“Telling Your Story with Numbers”
1.	User/Unit	
Rollout:
“Unit/User	
Economics”
2.	Revenue	Buildup:
Business	Model
Monetization
Valuation
3.	Cost	Buildup:
Burn	Rate
Pace	of	Growth
Funding	Needs
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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1. User/Unit Rollout
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
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1. User/Unit Rollout
• The User Base is the spine on which the financial model is built:
Ø Identify your modeling unit: user, unit of product, subscriber, intermediary, etc.
Ø Select your business model (B2B, B2c, B2B2C, licensing)
Ø Model and understand the Unit Economics (based on your industry benchmarks) -
the incremental cost and revenue from adding one unit – this is critical to building
a financial model!
Ø Align User/Unit rollout story with:
• Go-to-Market strategy (going viral is NOT a strategy…)
• Product roadmap
• R&D/Engineering roadmap
• IP Filing Roadmap
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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2015 2016
Today
01 03 05 07 09 11 2016 03 05 07
EFV3	Prototype	Completed
4/21/2015
PCT
8/3/2015
VCSEL	Demo	
8/3/2015
MVP	Alpha	for	Production
8/3/2015
Unknown	Entry	
12/31/2015
Beta	Release
4/1/2016
Marketing	Launch
7/1/2016
Printer	1	Release
7/1/2016
Milestone:	Prototype	Delivery
4/29/2015
Milestone:	Beta	Testing	Complete
11/29/2015
Milestone:	MVP	Alpha	Testing	Complete
4/1/2016
1/1/2015	- 8/1/2015Filing/IP
1/1/2015	- 7/1/2016R&D/	Tech
1/1/2015	- 7/1/2016Product
1/1/2015	- 7/1/2016Launch
Operating Timelines
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Unit Economics:
SaaS Metrics Example
KEY	SAAS	METRICS:
CAC	=	Customer	Acquisition	Cost
LTV	=	Lifetime	Value
MRR	=	Monthly	Recurring	Revenue
Churn	=	%	leaving	this	month
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Key SaaS Metrics: the “Holy” Ratios
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
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Simple Example: Managing Ratios
• CAC = $1,000
Ø$100,000/year sales person, 100 customers a year
• MRR = $50 (monthly price)
• Monthly Churn = 2% (leaving every month)
Ratios:
• LTV = 50/2% = $2,500
• Months to recover CAC = 1,000/50 = 20 (too long – should be <12)
• LTV/CAC = 2.5 (too low – should be >3)
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Improving SaaS Metrics
• Lower CAC:
ØIncreasing the sales quota
ØReducing the Salary
• Higher LTV:
ØIncreasing MRR (charging more per customer)
ØReducing Churn (key metric for SaaS companies)
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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35
2. Revenue & Cost Modeling
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
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2. Revenue Buildup
• Revenues represent the opportunity for investors, and the basis
of valuation for early stage ventures
Ø Select business model/revenue sources
Ø Identify all monetization opportunities
• Focus on top 2-3 revenue sources at the most!
Ø Project revenues at least 3 years out (5 if possible)
Ø Benchmark results against comparable companies
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Common Sources of Revenues
Product	SalesServices
Subscriptions
Freemium
In-App	Sales
Advertising
Sponsorships
Data	Mining
Licensing
Revenue	
Share
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
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Identifying the Right Revenue Model
• What revenue models are common in your industry?
• What is the criteria for revenue model selection?
ØType of User
ØIndustry Norms
ØType of Product
• Any innovative revenue models that you have seen recently?
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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3. Cost Buildup Overview
Cost	Function:
• Cost	of	Goods	Sold	
• R&D
• Sales	and	
Marketing
• General	and	
Administrative
Years	1	&	2	are	
predicted	on	a	
monthly	“burn	
rate”	basis	based	
on	actual	
assumptions
Later	Years	are	
driven	as	a	
percentage	of	
revenue	using	
industry	
normalized	ratios,	
as	revenues	
stabilize
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Principles of Cost Planning
• Minimize overhead, and make cost as variable as possible, so you only
pay when you make money
Ø Variable Cost >> vary with revenues (COGS)
Ø Fixed Cost >> payroll, marketing, overhead
• Focus on your org. chart as payroll is the largest cost item in an early
stage company (non-manufacturing)
• Fund the overhead, and your working capital gaps (critical in
manufacturing/supply chain situations), so you don’t dilute your
shareholders
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Cost Buildup: Cost Functions
• Modeling by Cost Function:
ØCost of Goods Sold: direct cost related to goods or services sold
• Vary with revenues, for examples: raw materials, sales commissions, etc
ØResearch & Development (R&D):
• Engineering salaries, facility operating cost
ØSales and Marketing:
• Sales (cost related to selling products or services), marketing (advertising, cost related to
branding)
ØGeneral and Administrative
• All overhead: rent, other office expenses, legal, services insurance, admin salaries,
management salaries (unless allocated to other functions)
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Cost Buildup: Org. Chart and Payroll
• Payroll is the largest cost item:
ØBuild org, chart for next two years by hiring date and function, for
easy allocation to cost items
ØUse salary surveys, by regions
ØFully loaded: benefits, taxes, workers’ comp insurance, healthcare,
bonuses, raises
ØEmployees v. contractors
ØCash v. equity compensation
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
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Org. Chart Example
CEO
CMO
Director	of		
Marketing	and	PR
Marketing	
manager
PR	manager
PR	manager
Director	of	Sales	
and	Business	
Development
Director	of	New	
Business	Ventures
Business	
Development	
Manager
Business	
Development	
Manager
Sales	
Representative
Sales	
Representative
Chief	Content	
Officer
Country	Publisher	
(Mexico)
Director	of	
Branded	Content	
Creation
Copywriter
Copywriter
Copywriter
Copywriter
Copywriter
Director	of	
Content	Curation
Content	Curator
Content	Curator
Content	Curator
Director	of	Page	
Design
Page	Designer
Page	Designer
Country	Publisher	
(U.S.)
COO
Controller
Various	
Consultants
Legal	Services
CTO
Project	Manager
Dev	Leader
Backend	Dev
Backend	Dev
HTML5	Dev
HTML5	Dev
Mobile	Dev)
Mobile	Dev)
Graphic	Designer QA	Analyst
QA	Analyst
System	Admin
Director	of	
Operations
To	be	Hired	
Immediately
To	be	Hired	
in	Year	2
To	be	Hired	
in	Year	3
Sitting	in	
Mexico	Office
Outsourced
Marketing
Sales	&	Business	
Development
EngineeringPublishing
Administrative
Key:
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
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Cost Buildup: Over Time
• Years 1 & 2 are predicted on a monthly basis to estimate “burn rate”
based on actual assumptions
• Years 3 and beyond are driven as a percentage of revenue using
industry normalized ratios
ØAs revenue is generated more consistently, expenses should converge to
industry ratios
ØBefore revenues are stabilized, expenses cannot be expected to have a ratio
correlation to revenues, therefore expenses in the early years need to be
estimated from scratch
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Bringing It All Together:
Financial Model and Funding
Simulation
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Time 1 New Subscriptions 10,000
Monthly New Subscription Growth 10%
Salesperson Annual Salary 120,000$
Sales Quota (# of Subscriptions) 5,000
Churn Rate 2%
Monthly Subscription Fee 5.00$
Model Inputs
10% Growth
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5
Subcriptions (in units)
Opening Subscriptions 0 196,149 404063 2249188 7828780
New Subscriptions 213,850 671,183 2,106,469 6,611,012 20,748,185
Monthly Churn Rate 2% 2% 2% 2% 2%
Churned Subscriptions 17,701 463,269 261,344 1,031,420 3,402,774
Closing Subscriptions 196,149 404,063 2,249,188 7,828,780 25,174,191
Financials ($000) - Except Headcount
Opening Cash -$ 1,070,293$ 2,035,083$ 23,812,748$ 147,918,062$
Sales Headcount 68 215 675 2,117 6,644
Sales & Marketing Costs 5,130,000 16,090,000 50,560,000 158,660,000 497,960,000
Fixed Costs 500,004 500,004 500,004 874,999 2,250,000
Total Costs 5,630,004 16,590,004 51,060,004 159,534,999 500,210,000
Subscription Revenue 4,425,090 15,442,340 65,336,160 257,854,830 850,693,530
Other Revenue 442,509 1,544,234 6,533,616 25,785,483 85,069,353
Total Revenue 4,867,599 16,986,574 71,869,776 283,640,313 935,762,883
Annual Funding 1,832,698 568,220 967,894 - -
Cumulative 1,832,698 2,400,918 3,368,811 3,368,811 3,368,811
Closing Cash 1,070,293 2,035,083 23,812,748 147,918,062 583,470,945
Valuation Multiple of Revenues 20 20 20 20 20
Pre-Money Valuation 1,000,000 3,922,980 8,081,260 44,983,760 156,575,600
Post-Money-Valuation 2,832,698 4,491,200 9,049,154 44,983,760 156,575,600
Founder Share Pre-Funding (%) 100% 35% 31% 28% 28%
Founder Share Post-Funding 35% 31% 28% 28% 28%
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
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5% Growth
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5
Subcriptions (in units)
Opening Subscriptions 0 144,451 169045 598563 1306401
New Subscriptions 159,175 285,879 513,400 921,977 1,655,725
Monthly Churn Rate 2% 2% 2% 2% 2%
Churned Subscriptions 14,724 261,285 83,882 214,139 434,395
Closing Subscriptions 144,451 169,045 598,563 1,306,401 2,527,731
Financials ($000) - Except Headcount
Opening Cash -$ 1,145,579$ 3,355,943$ 13,613,016$ 49,881,627$
Sales Headcount 41 74 132 238 427
Sales & Marketing Costs 3,810,000 6,870,000 12,310,000 22,120,000 39,740,000
Fixed Costs 500,004 500,004 500,004 500,004 500,004
Total Costs 4,310,004 7,370,004 12,810,004 22,620,004 40,240,004
Subscription Revenue 3,680,685 8,709,425 20,970,070 53,535,105 108,598,710
Other Revenue 368,069 870,943 2,097,007 5,353,511 10,859,871
Total Revenue 4,048,754 9,580,368 23,067,077 58,888,616 119,458,581
Annual Funding 1,406,830 - - - -
Cumulative 1,406,830 1,406,830 1,406,830 1,406,830 1,406,830
Closing Cash 1,145,579 3,355,943 13,613,016 49,881,627 129,100,204
Valuation Multiple of Revenues 20 20 20 20 20
Pre-Money Valuation 1,000,000 2,889,020 3,380,900 11,971,260 26,128,020
Post-Money-Valuation 2,406,830 2,889,020 3,380,900 11,971,260 26,128,020
Founder Share Pre-Funding (%) 100% 42% 42% 42% 42%
Founder Share Post-Funding 42% 42% 42% 42% 42%
Time 1 New Subscriptions 10,000
Monthly New Subscription Growth 5%
Salesperson Annual Salary 120,000$
Sales Quota (# of Subscriptions) 5,000
Churn Rate 2%
Monthly Subscription Fee 5.00$
Model Inputs
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Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
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Foresight Services
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49
Foresight Services
• Foresight understands the needs of Startups, and the expectations of
investors, as they begin their fundraising efforts and to better assist you
on this journey, we have created a set of services that we believe
address these needs:
1. Business Model Assessment
2. Financial Modeling
3. Valuation
4. Funding Strategy
5. IP Strategy
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
50
Foresight Services
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
51
Special Offers for Our Workshop Participants
1) Introductory Consulting Session: We help identify a company’s strengths and weaknesses in an
effort to enhance your company’s positioning for funding. Using our Startup Assessment Survey which is
the first step in this process, which is then followed by 2 sessions focusing on the two main categories
that contribute to startup success: Product and Execution. We provide guided instructions for
improvement, and following that session, we could also launch any of our services (business model
selection, funding strategy or IP strategy).
2) Advanced SaaS Modeling Seminar: We have developed this course to enable participants to
go in-depth into SaaS modeling, as a follow up to the introductory concepts presented in class. We
cap the number of participants in these seminars to a small group of 3 people, to enable us to
address the individual needs of each participant while also providing a more focused tutorial on how
to create a financial model for your SaaS company. These half-day seminars are typically held at our
Palo Alto office but we can also hold the seminar at your company or over a web conference.
“Vision	without	action	is	a	daydream.	Action	without	vision	is	a	nightmare.”
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
52
Questions?
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
53
Startup Valuation Resources
• Angel Resource Institute
Ø www.angelresourceinstitute.org
• Fenwick & West
Ø Seed Financing Survey 2012 of Internet/Digital Media and Software Industries
• Silicon Valley Bank
Ø The HALO Report 2013
• The Kauffman Foundation
Ø Valuing Pre-Revenue Companies
• Center for Venture Research
Ø https://paulcollege.unh.edu/cvr
• PitchBook
Ø The Series A, B & C valuation distribution for U.S. companies is moving
• Mahesh VC
Ø This is Why Public and Private Market Valuations Are Completely Different
Foresight	Valuation	Group	©	2016
Palo	Alto,	CA
(650)	561-3374
ForesightValuation.com
54
Contact Us
Foresight	Valuation	Group
425	Sherman	Avenue,	Suite	200
Palo	Alto,	CA	94306
Phone:	(650)	561-3374
ekasznik@foresightvaluation.com
info@foresightvaluation.com
LinkedIn.com/Company/Foresight-Valuation-Group
Twitter.com/ForesightValue
ForesightValuation.com

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