This document summarizes a social media and digital marketing short course. It discusses topics like creativity vs data, ROI, cookies, GDPR, viewability, interactivity, and data-driven advertising. It also covers the use of data in digital marketing, including targeting, re-targeting, and how data is used to optimize campaigns. GDPR and its impact on digital advertising are briefly discussed, including changes to how consumer data is collected and used.
2. THE ROAD WE TRAVEL TODAY
Creativity V Data -
Understanding Data – The test
ROI -
Cookies – Show Ghostery
GDPR
Look at your videos.
Viewability
Interactivity
Cookieless advertising
Data Driven advertising
7. REPORTING WISDOM
Ad Agencies spend about 60% of their time creating reports for their
clients. They hate it.
Even though the reports can be automated, it is valuable to analyse a
report to actually get to know the client.
8. DATA AND CREATIVITY – AI DOC.
Which do you feel is more important?
What comes first data or creativity?
What things can’t a computer improve?
10. • Oct 1994 – 1st Online ad appeared in Hot Wired Magazine.
• Advertisers were Zima, Club Med and AT&T
• 468x60 – pixel size – filled horizontal length of maximised
browser. ( We had 15 inch screens back then).
• First form of advertising to offer accurate measurement
• Click Through Rate Born! - Very high at first.
• You can find an Oral History of the first banner ad by
clicking here.
11. WHAT MAKES DIGITAL AD
DISTINCT?
• Interactivity – Click Here!
• Measurability – ROI
• Targetability - Like never before
• Flexibility – A defining trait.
12. Types of Targeting
When using an ad server
Site
Date
Time
Browser
Connection
Speed
Operating System
IP address
Frequency Capping
Internet Service Provider
Geo-IP
Key-word and key value
Cookie-targeting
Re-targeting
Optimisation Engines
S
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D
Contextual/behavioural combined
R
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T
A
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G
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T
I
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Surround sessions
Contextual
I
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Audience Segmentation
Tastes and interests
13. Expressed as % of clicks to impressions
CTR (Click Through Rate)= X/Y = CTR
Y = 1,000,000 impressions
X = 10,000 clicks
(10,000 / 1,000,000)x100 = 1% CTR
There is one big problem with a CTR.
THE BASIC CURRENCY OF ONLINE DISPLAYADS.
Your logo here
14. Think of engagement data as the chemical
reaction between the viewer, the viewability of
the story, the offer, and how busy that person
was at the time.
A high CTR doesn’t mean that
you will sell more products.
15. THESE TOOLS COME FROM MARKETING AND
SO AUDIENCE DATA IS LIKE THIS.
Marketers don’t care about the name of each animal – just the direction of the
animals.
17. WE COULD NEVER MEASURE THIS
BEFORE
The chance of an Web user clicking on an ad and
going straight to the purchase page is about as
likely as a pedestrian hailing a taxi and asking the
driver to take him or her directly to the place
advertised on the side of the cab – VERY SMALL.
It is more likely the user will make
a note and visit later. Online,
you can measure exactly this:
the branding effect.
18. User Sees a banner, remembers it,
but DOES NOT CLICK
Goes to site within 90
days and buys
something
User Gets another
cookie set in
browser
Cookie sent back
To adserver / agency
Adserver sets a cookie set in
internet browser
Events
Correlated
POST CLICK AND POST VIEW
19. 19
CPM:
CPM = “Cost Per Thousand”
In Traditional advertising “1,000” = viewers or readers
In Internet advertising “1,000” = impressions
“M” is the symbol for the Roman numeral 1,000
The benchmark for pricing of traditional media
How much does it cost to reach 1,000 readers or viewers
Calculating the Cost of Media using CPM
1,000,000 impressions
CPM = £10
Calculation is: (1,000,000 / 1,000) * £10 CPM = £10,000 media buy
Calculating the CPM based on the Cost of Media
Cost of media = £10,000
1,500,000 impressions
Calculation is £10,000 / (1,500,000 * 1,000) = £6.66
BASIC PRICING MODEL
20. 20
Impressions = 1,000,000
CPM = £10
Calculation:
(Impressions / 1,000) x CPM = Cost of Media
(1,000,000 / 1,000) * £10 = £10,000
CALCULATING THE COST
OF MEDIA USING CPM
27. To make sure your message gets to the right person.
To measure how engaging the story was.
To try and get you to see the story.
To try and find more of you.
To optimise digital advertising, in campaigns in real time.
WHY IS DATA USED ROUND UP
30. Source: Tim Armstrong, Google SES, 2005
• Achieve greater brand impact through intelligent targeting
• Improve performance by maximising relevancy and minimising wastage
• Contextual ads scan content before placing ad
CONTEXTUAL ADVERTISING
42. CLASS LINKS
Pay with a smile at KFC in China
http://www.alizila.com/alipay-launches-smile-to-pay-commercial-use/
The latest use of image recognition technology is from Alibaba’s Alipay, which is
allowing customers to pay with a smile. Initially just in one restaurant (possibly
to allow intensive monitoring…), it’s a nice twist on the ‘pay with a selfie’ idea.
Store Analytics with floor level cameras
https://www.hoxtonanalytics.com/
I went to an event this week on the future of retail, and one of the companies
mentioned was this analytics company that measures footfall, inc
producing a dashboard and visualisations, simply by filming people’s shoes as
they enter and leave stores or malls. They even say they can tell the gender of
the shopper (presumably based on style and size of foot…) Sometimes the
great ideas are the simple ones!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=52&v=4X6ZpOp3dkE
43. Brand Safety aka – content verification tools
CV products block or report, in real time, the serving of an online advertisement onto
destinations that have been defined as inappropriate to the campaign.
This refers to any words that are deemed by the advertiser to be unsuitable for a campaign,
including brand conflicting content.
These tools mostly send blank ads when they detect a negative page. In RTB this wastes a lot
of money. Only Grapeshot and Double verify can now block sites at a bidding level.
A serious issue for all these guys is - Lack of source level transparency is primarily an
unfortunate side effect of inventory “daisy-chaining” (or inter-network reselling)
44. Is re-targeting the solution to the problems of
digital marketing?
What are the other options?
QUESTIONS
Your logo here
50. TARGET GROUP
Interests: Parenting Teenagers, UCAS, A-level, Higher education or
Screenwriting and Parents: Parents with teenagers (aged 13-18) or
Parents with adult children (aged 18-26)
60. TARGET GROUP
Custom audience of Teachers and A-Level UCAS related Influencers FE
influencers
61. TWITTER TOP LEVEL STATS
Tweet engagements
2807
Engagement rate
0.90%
Cost per engagement
0.36
Clicks
1474
Media engagements
1307
Retweets
11
Replies
3
Follows
12
Video Views
167376
Cost per view
1
view Rate
54
62. POSSIBLE COURSES OF ACTION
PLUMB THE DEPARTMENTS SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS INTO THE
FACEBOOK ADVERTISING AND TWITTER ADVERTISING PLATFORMS AT A
DEEPER LEVEL.
COMPLETE THE DATA CIRCLE IN TERMS SOCIAL MEDIA AND
APPLICATIONS SO WE SEE REAL ROI IMPACT
SIMPLIFY RHUL LANDING PAGES. INCLUDE MORE VIDEO CONTENT.
HAVE APPLICATION LINKS ON SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS
CREATE LOOKALIKE POOLS ON FACEBOOK AND TWITTER
MORE STUDENT LED ADVERTISING.
MORE DIVERSITY
63. GDPR
The amount of data collected about us has risen exponentially. But
where is that data, who owns it and who uses it?
European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), which will come
into force on May 25 2018
it replaces the previous 1995 data protection directive, which current
UK law is based upon
64. GDPR
Where GDPR differentiates from current data protection laws is that
pseudonymised personal data can fall under the law – if it's possible
that a person could be identified by a pseudonym.
These include allowing people to have easier access to the data
companies hold about them, a new fines regime and a clear
responsibility for organisations to obtain the consent of people they
collect information about.
65. GDPR
massive data breaches, including millions of Yahoo, LinkedIn, and
MySpace account details. Under GDPR, the "destruction, loss, alteration,
unauthorised disclosure of, or access to" people's data has to be
reported to a country's data protection regulator
The ICO has to be told about a breach 72 hours after an organisation
finds out about it and the people it impacts also need to be told.
66. GDPR
GDPR also gives individuals a lot more power to access the information
that's held about them
requests for personal information can be made free-of-charge
people must be provided with an explanation of a decision made about
them.
fines of up to €10 million or two per cent of a firm's global turnover
(whichever is greater). Those with more serious consequences can have
fines of up to €20 million or four per cent of a firm's global turnover
(whichever is greater).
67. GDPR
WHAT IS PERSONAL DATA?Personal data can be anything that allows a
living person to be directly or indirectly identified. This may be a name,
an address, or even an IP address. It includes automated personal data
and can also encompass pseudonymised data if a person can be
identified from it.
SO, WHAT'S SENSITIVE PERSONAL DATA?GDPR calls sensitive personal
data as being in 'special categories' of information. These include trade
union membership, religious beliefs, political opinions, racial
information, and sexual orientation.
68. IMPACT ON DIGITAL ADVERTISING
Regarding the implication on digital marketing, it looks like location, IP
and device ID will be included.
Consumers are now going to need to be re-informed about what data
is being collected on them, and will need to be offered a way of opting
out.
End or Re-targeting.